Coinbase, a US-based digital currency exchange, is expanded operations into 11 new countries in Latin America and South East Asia.

These countries include Argentina, Mexico, Peru, Colombia, Chile, India, Hong Kong, South Korea, Indonesia, Philippines and New Zealand.

Users in these countries will be able to access both Coinbase as well as Coinbase Pro.

The expansion is said to be one of the main priorities of Coinbase.

With the move, the firm’s presence increases to 53 countries across four continents.

In a blog post, Coinbase said: “As crypto moves from the current “investment phase” into what we call the “utility phase,” a host of new use cases will present themselves.

“This could take the form of decentralised versions of traditional financial services like lending or micropayments or truly novel crypto applications that no one has even thought of yet.

“The ability to convert from one crypto to another will form the backbone of this new decentralised economy.”

Coinbase believes crypto-to-crypto to be the new norm.

The company cited that the trend has overtaken fiat to crypto trading last year.

Coinbase was recently in the news for its acquisition of blockchain analytics firm Neutrino.

Using Neutrino’s technology, one can assess cryptocurrency flows across multiple blockchains.