Azerbaijan’s initiative to improve the
country’s cards and payments infrastructure is going strong and now
MasterCard is set to introduce its contactless payment technology

Hakan Akar, regional manager of MasterCard in
Azerbaijan, told local website

“We work with banks of Azerbaijan to make
fast, convenient and secure MasterCard PayPass technology to become
available to residents of Baku this year, and the results of the
study show that it will be regarded positively. We also continue
developing our payment systems to provide customers with the best
service – convenient and secure.”

The government is also continuing to work on
its e-gov portal.

On 18 April, the Central Bank of Azerbaijan
reported that its president has signed a decree “on some measures
to organise e-services of Public Institutions” as part of the
government’s drive to cut back on corruption and increase
transparency in payments.

The government is working on an electronic
payments portal that processes payments on an internal information
system by the country’s General Treasury “to ensure collection of
taxes, duties, fines and penalties and other budget payments
through the wide infrastructure of the National Payment System
throughout the country and a relevant process is successfully under
way,” it said on its website.

The first phase, which moved the collection of
taxes and fees onto the ePay Portal, has been achieved. Now, the
government is in the process of uploading tax payer data from the
cities of Baku, Sumgayit and Ganja, and the regions of Absheron and
Khachmaz onto its central data base.

Registered consumers from those areas can now
initiate payments from 40 banks and 1,200 payment posts at the
Azerbaijani post office (Azerpost), online at or on the Internet
Tax Office of the Ministry of Taxes.

The Azerbaijani government uses 90 economic
classification codes, which are identified by the system, in order
to cut back on payment errors.

Next, the government will integrate the
information systems of the Ministry of Internal Affairs, The State
Customs Committee, The State Social Protection Fund and other
state, although it is still unclear when exactly the next phase
will commence.